Recipes, Reviews

Flatout Flatbread

For MONTHS I’ve heard people recommend the brand Flatout and especially their low calorie flatbreads. I looked around and couldn’t find them anywhere, thinking I’d have to order a whole freaking box online. But today… Oh today was a good day.

After picking up Kevin from Pre-K, he asked if we could go to the store. Sure thing, so we headed over to Walmart (and no, I don’t think Walmart is a low quality store like some people think, it depends on the location and not the company). I picked up some more pumpkin puree, Greek yogurt and deli chicken while walking past the bread aisle. Thinking about stocking up on some more Sara Lee bread, we headed down and ran past… Wait for it… FLATOUT FLATBREADS! I got so excited and grabbed the Italian Herb flavor right away as well as some Quest Protein Chips (review coming later).

When I opened the bag at home, oh my the damn flatbread even smells good! So I made a flat pizza tonight. Super simple and it was so damn good. Writing this 2 hours later and I’m still full. Yay!

All in all, it’s the best “skinny” bread that I’ve used as a pizza crust and I’ll go for this one from now on. It’s soft and the edges didn’t crisp up too much. Oh, and did I tell you that it smells soooo good? I also love that it has 9g of protein in each flatbread and not that many carbs either (14g). And guess what? One is only 90-100 calories depending on which flavor you pick (Original, Italian Herb, Garden Spinach and Sun-dried Tomato). I definitely want to try the Sun-dried Tomato next and then I want to check out a few other products that Flatout offer.


Flatbread BBQ Chicken Pizza

Nutrition for my whole pizza: 246 calories, 35g protein, 29g carbs, 2g fat.

1 Flatout flatbread (I used Italian herb)

3 tbsp of G Hughes sugar free BBQ sauce

2 tsp of Sambal Oelek

Yellow onion

Your chicken of choice

Baby Bella mushrooms

Mozzarella and cream cheese

Spinach

Oregano


  1. Turn the broiler on to 400 degrees F and place the flatbread on a baking sheet.

  2. Mix 2 tbsp of BBQ sauce, Sambal Oelek, chopped onion and sliced chicken in a bowl and spread out on the flatbread evenly.

  3. Slice the mushroom and place on top of the BBQ mix.

  4. Sprinkle mozzarella and put a few dollops of cream cheese evenly, as well as some spinach.

  5. Mix the rest of the BBQ sauce with oregano and let it drip on top of your pizza.

  6. Place under broiler for about 2-5 minutes until the cheese is melted and the spinach has wilted a bit.

  7. Slice and serve!


Notes:

  • I used fat free cheese and deli chicken. I find that using deli meat on thin crusts like this makes it easier to eat since it doesn’t really weigh the crust down.

  • Skip the last BBQ sauce mixed with oregano if you want to just add it to the chicken mixture. I just like seeing it on top of my pizza.

  • If the oregano and BBQ sauce is to thick, just add some water so that it’s easier to drip over. Mine thickened under the broiler so that it didn’t get runny.

 

Leave a Reply

