Recipes, Reviews

Grilled Chicken with BBQ sauce in a Portobello Mushroom Bun

Sometimes you end up with your macros telling you to have a salad for dinner, when all YOU want is a savory burger. Now, the good you (the obedient you) start making a salad, bored with it before it’s even started. The bad you orders a burger at a takeout place and you end up feeling guilty about it at the same time you take that first bite. But then you’ve already bought it, so it’s too late then anyways. Right?

Well, let me tell you this. There’s a way out that doesn’t take much effort, fits your macros AND your need for something amazing. It’s my Grilled Chicken with BBQ sauce in Portobello Mushroom Bun. And trust me, this one is a keeper and one of my go-to dinner options when I’m craving something extra tasty (and on any other day as well). If you already have some chicken in the fridge already cooked, you’ll be able to whip this up in a matter of a few minutes.

I also want to take a few to tell you about GoVeggies vegaan Cheddar Singles. I found them at Walmart in the fresh produce section and decided to try them. I’ve been so curious about vegan cheese options that I couldn’t help myself. Well, I didn’t have any high hopes at ALL. I’m kind of a cheese snob, having a silly love for anything cheesy no matter if it’s jalapeno poppers or brie with crackers and grapes in the shade on a hot summer day. I LOVE CHEESE. But I was very happily surprised. The slices smell cheesy and taste cheesy too. Since trying them, I’ve been using only these slices whenever I’m making a sandwich/burger that calls for cheddar cheese. So give it a go. Even if you’re not vegan, trying new things is important to broaden your views on anything. And how do you know that you don’t like it unless you try it? Eh?

17351265_751320395023151_278536787_n (1).jpg


Grilled Chicken with BBQ Sauce in Portobello Mushroom Bun

Nutrition: 244 calories, 31.6g protein, 11.3g carbs, 9g fat.

1 Portobello mushroom cap

85g of grilled chicken

2 slices of center cut bacon

Onion

Spinach

1 slice of GoVeggie Cheddar Singles

2 tbsp of BBQ sauce

*Optional: Hot sauce, mustard, dried basil


  1. Turn on the broiler of your oven to 400F and spray a baking sheet lightly.

  2. Pull out the stem from the mushroom cap and cut off the top to use as the top of the bun.

  3. Place on baking sheet and put under broiler, making sure to check and turn both pieces over to roast both sides. They should only get a bit of color and crisp up a little bit if you so wish.

  4. On the bottom piece (the big piece placed gill-side up) spread most of the BBQ sauce and top with chopped onion, spinach and cooked bacon.

  5. Add the chicken (heated up in microwave if it’s prepped from before), spread the rest of the BBQ sauce on and top with the cheese slice.

  6. Place the burger under the broiler again until the cheese is melted according to your preference. Make sure to check often since it only takes a few short minutes.

  7. Add the top and stick a toothpick through the middle and serve!


Notes:

  • For the BBQ sauce I like mixing in some hot sauce/sambal oelek to make it spicier. Tonight I also mixed in some no calorie mustard, dried basil and pepper.

  • I used G Hughes Sugar Free Hickory BBQ sauce. You can find it at Target, Safeway and Walmart.

  • Bacon can be tricky and people tend to stay away when eating healthy. I found that using center cut slices keeps the calories lower. I also make sure to check the slices before I buy them to find the package with the best meat-to-fat ratio. The more meat the better, obviously.

Leave a Reply

